Virtual Pascal

Classic Object Pascal for free

Hello friends, Can somebody help me with the following? Forgive me if my remarks are naive, I am really very ignorant about programming.

I've been using VP on my home computer for several years. However, the truth is that although I manage to get by, I still have various problems in using VP. I won't go into these now (later perhaps), but will explain my current problem.

Recently I downloaded VP onto my computer at work. The trouble is that the programs I wrote and use at home no longer work. For example, I get a compiler error that CLRSCR is an unknown identifier. I thought that adding CRT under USES might help, but then all I get is CRT.VPI IS NOT FOUND. It looks as though the package I downloaded is incomplete. Can anyone tell me what I must do to overcome this problem?

Many thanks, Lee

Views: 377

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hi !

Did you check the default directories ?
Or maybe you need to recompile the RTL. I'm at work so I don't have VP available but ik think there is a BUILDRTL.PAS (or a name like that) in the sources.

Bye for now,
Alcatiz.
Hi Alcatis,
Thanks for your response. I find 4 files in VP21\Source\Rtl that resemble your suggestion:
Bldrtl.1
Bldrtl.cmd
Bldrtl.ORG
Bldrtl.pas

I've tried clicking on these but nothing seems to happen. Can you suggest something I could try?

Regards, Lee
Hi

You can load bldrtl.pas in the editor and then select Compile -> Build.
If you intend to use the OWL (Object Windows Library) you can do the same with \owl\buildowl.pas.

Hope this helps you ?
Ok, thanks. I tried that and got Success. But it makes no difference: clrscr is still an unknown identifier.
As for your second point, there exists no file or folder in the VP21 folder containing the trigram OWL.
Any further ideas welcome.
Correction! I forgot to add the crt unit. Everything works fine now. Many thanks Alcatis, I really am grateful. But now I have a second question.